Overslaan en naar de inhoud gaan

Higher Education in Flanders

Flanders organises its education independently within Belgium. It follows the European standards and the European Qualification Framework. We work with the European Credits Transfer System (or ECTS). In higher education we offer various types of programmes.

The short-cycle programmes (usually about 90 ECTS credits) or EQF 5 are termed 'Associate degrees'. They are only very rarely offered in another language than Dutch.

The bachelor programmes (usually 180 ECTS credits, or 240 ECTS credits for Nursing) or EQF 6 are split in so-called profession-oriented or academic bachelors. Profession-oriented bachelors are exclusively offered at university colleges (or 'universities of applied sciences') such as UC Leuven-Limburg. The professional and practice-oriented component is very high. Academic bachelors are only offered at universities.

Master programmes take 60 to 120 ECTS credits. They are only offered at universities. University colleges do offer, however, a post-bachelor programme of 60 ECTS credits. This profession-oriented and specializing programme is termed a bachelor-after-bachelor or Advanced bachelor programme.

Programme structure

One year of study at UC Leuven-Limburg equals 60 ECTS credits. Our bachelor programmes of 180 ECTS credits thus normally take three years of study. Specific trajectories, many of those based on Recognition of Prior Learning, are available. Please contact us for more information.